Home Page

EYFS Curriculum

Children in Nursery follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).

The EYFS Curriculum has seven main areas of learning – 3 Prime areas and 4 Specific areas.

The Prime Areas feed into the Specific Areas. Children must develop well in all three prime areas to enable them to achieve highly in the Specific Areas.

Each day we will provide experiences for your child to develop and make firm foundations in the Prime Areas.


Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

 Sharing, taking turns, talking through disagreements. Having a positive attitude, talking about feelings and showing empathy.

Communication and Language

Talking, listening, hearing and making different sound. Using correct tenses, answering in full sentences and pronouncing sounds in words.

Physical Development

Self-care; going to the toilet, washing hands and catching coughs and sneezes. Gross motor skills; walking, jumping, running and balancing. Fine motor; pinching, rolling, holding, clapping and hand-eye co-ordination.


Specific areas:

Literacy (Reading and Writing)


Understanding the world 

Expressive Arts and Design.

Your child will access a fun and inspiring curriculum based on their interests and needs. We focus on the Prime and Specific areas as well as nurturing the Characteristics of Effective Learning.


Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and Exploring (Engagement)

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active Learning (Motivation)

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and Thinking Critically (Thinking)

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things